Administrative Groupings

Administrative Groupings of Onitsha

Graphical Chart of the Administrative Groupings of Onitsha

Ebo Itenani

Ebo Itenani refers to the nine clans that make up the Onitsha traditional society (City State). The clans are as in the chart below:


Oba Isi

This represents the division of the indigenous communities on the basis of ancestry into six units for effective civil administration. The units depicted in the chart below:



Funds are raised and common benefits are shared among the people through these units. At the last phase of an Obi’s coronation, the new Obiship candidate must present a cow to each of these administrative units, who must accept the cows as a show of their adoption of that Obi’s candidacy.